Memories of Love

Mr. and Mrs. Jose Regala Banting

Thirty nine years ago today, my father and mother got married despite the odds. My maternal grandmother’s strong opposition posed a lot of obstacles to the romance between the handsome Kapampangan and the lovely Ilongga, but the trials only made their love stronger.Upon learning about the relationship that led to pregnancy, my grandmother forcibly sent my Mama Nanie from Manila to South Cotabato. Lola Poren even blocked all Mama Nanie’s postal letters to keep my father from finding out her real condition. However, my father tracked her location, learned  about the pregnancy and reunited with her. He eventually won the heart of my lola. Indeed, God made a way where there seemed to be no way.

My Papa Joe’s love for my Mama Nanie was so intense that he looked for ways to pursue her even if that meant leaving the comforts of Luzon and facing the challenges of Mindanao in 1972.

February 5, 1972

When she got married, my mother was five months heavy with me. I am so happy that my Mama Nanie did not attempt to abort me. I am so glad that my Papa Joe did not evade his responsibilities.I am so joyful that they sealed their bond of love.

A lot of major decisions and beautiful memories of love were woven because of their union.Four months after their wedding, Mama gave birth to me at Doctor’s Hospital. My name Joana is a combination of their names: Jose and Antonia. A year after, my younger brother Jacimar, was born. I close my eyes and vividly recall the wonderful times we spent together. What better way to reminisce than by singing Perhaps Love, a John Denver classic which happens to be one of my parent’s favorite videoke songs.

Perhaps love is like a resting place
A shelter from the storm
It exists to give you comfort
It is there to keep you warm
And in those times of trouble
When you are most alone
The memory of love will bring you home

Perhaps love is like a window
Perhaps an open door
It invites you to come closer
It wants to show you more
And even if you lose yourself
And don’t know what to do
The memory of love will see you through

Oh, Love to some is like a cloud
To some as strong as steel

For some a way of living
For some a way to feel
And some say love is holding on
And some say letting go
And some say love is everything
And some say they don’t know

And some say love is holding on
And some say letting go
And some say love is everything
Some say they don’t know

Perhaps love is like the ocean
Full of conflict, full of change
Like a fire when it’s cold outside
Or thunder when it rains
If I should live forever
And all my dreams come true
My memories of love will be of you

 

And so today, during my parents’ 39th Wedding Anniversary, I rejoice. Through them, I learned so much about living and loving. Papa Joe may no longer be with us while Mama Nanie aches for his presence, but the memories of love will keep us joyful.

4 thoughts on “Memories of Love

  1. MP Lapore says:

    I really love them so much!

    Happy Anniversary Papa Joe & Mama Nanie.

  2. auntie says:

    Hi Joi pang MMK pala life story nyo lalo na pag nadugtungan ng Chapter ng buhay mo… =)) kay Mama Nanie mo ngapala namana ang pretty looks mo. Si Papa Joe is gwapo jud. Happy Anniversary Mr. & Mrs, Jose Banting!

  3. ric dedicatoria says:

    ay naaaaaaaaaaahh tinalo ang Florante at Laura love story..” hahamakin ang lahat masunod ka lamang pag-ibig!”tuo na dyud ko sa gugma ni papa joe nga ga-uros-uros! dili mapug-ngan bisan baha og balud! tan-awa nahimugso ang usa ka binuhat nga puno pud sa gugma! walang iba gundi c “Gigi” jejejjeje kagilok oi! happy 39th wedding aniversary mama nanie and papa joe, mwaahhh

  4. Liza Arante says:

    it’s very nice to read stories like this. in the end the good heart wins the battle.

Leave a Reply

