Love Your Enemies

“You’re familiar with the old written law, ‘Love your friend,’ and its unwritten companion, ‘Hate your enemy.’ I’m challenging that. I’m telling you to love your enemies. Let them bring out the best in you, not the worst. When someone gives you a hard time, respond with the energies of prayer, for then you are working out of your true selves, your God-created selves. This is what God does. He gives his best—the sun to warm and the rain to nourish—to everyone, regardless: the good and bad, the nice and nasty. If all you do is love the lovable, do you expect a bonus? Anybody can do that. If you simply say hello to those who greet you, do you expect a medal? Any run-of-the-mill sinner does that.

“In a word, what I’m saying is, Grow up. You’re kingdom subjects. Now live like it. Live out your God-created identity. Live generously and graciously toward others, the way God lives toward you.”~Matthew 5:40-48 (Message Translation)

Lord, this one is a tough command but by Your loving grace, I can manifest love to the unlovable. I remember how I used to be and how You have rescued me. I recognize that it is Your love that transforms me from glory to glory. Apart from You, I am doomed. I want to grow in love by living in love. Let my obedience be my expression of gratitude. Let Your love be my kind of love. Amen.

7 thoughts on “Love Your Enemies

  1. Mark Cornell Terante says:

    Like. Loving one’s enemy is one of the things which, for me, is the hardest thing to do. But it’s ironic that even we committed a lot of mistakes, a lot of sins, still God loves us; but we, we can’t just love the people who committed few mistakes or maybe just a single mistake against us. I love this blog. This made me relearn something; this made me relearn to love my enemies. 🙂 thank you po sa post, Ma’am. 🙂

  2. THUMBS-UP ! i’ve also thank GOD ma’am jo for giving me a second life .He give me a chance to live in this world ,the opportunity to give thanks to my parents who love me for what i am and to all my friends who is there supporting me ,cheering & makes me happy when i’m sad and also the people around me …

  3. faith hatamosa says:

    Good day ma’am! It’s really nice reading this story. It helped me realize the significance of learning to love your enemies. It maybe difficult to befriend my enemy but giving it a try won’t hurt my pride. Thank you ma’am!

  4. Michelle B. Buldec says:

    LOVE MY ENEMY? how do i love my enemy?
    how is that possible?
    ….It doesn’t mean we approve of what our enemies maybe doing.Since all of us are created by GOD including our enemies we must treat everyone with respect and kindness…… Jesus tells us to love our enemies right?So, since I read this story, I remember my best-friend and I realized when I kept the feeling of hatred inside,It hurt me and also It’s reflection returned to me and I know that I’m wrong too so I text her and say sorry to her…and because of this story that you’ve shared Ma’am now finally we’re okey…Thank you ma’am!

  5. Rocelle lara says:

    Good Day ma’am jo. wow! I love this one ma’am jo, it is so nice because i agree that we should love our enemies even if they once hurt you. because we know no body is perfect. So we should love everyone like God loves us so much even in our imperfection. Thank You for this wonderful blog ma’am jo.

  6. Harold Genovea '94 says:

    ========================================================
    all I can say… 4 me …. loving my enemies… the hardest thing to do and one of my life’s greatest challenges (//-)
    ========================================================
    10 Tips>>>
    o1.>> Stop, breathe, detach yourself.
    o2.>> Put yourself in their shoes.
    o3.>> Seek to understand.
    o4.>> Seek to accept.
    o5.>> Forgive, and let the past go.
    o6.>> Find something to love.
    o7.>> See them as yourself, or a loved one.
    o8.>> Find common ground.
    o9.>> Open your heart.
    10.>> Reach out to them.
    ========================================================

Leave a Reply

