Using the Power of Words

Today, I choose to muster enough courage to break my silence especially on issues that have repercussions to a great number of people. I choose to develop my competencies by leaps and bounds so I can be in a better position to tackle  social concerns. I choose to equip myself so I can stand for my convictions without worries of being hit. I choose to develop my character so I will have nothing to fear, nothing to hide, nothing to lose.

I keep on telling others that words have power. I do not merely want to speak for those who cannot speak for themselves, I want to empower others to personally voice out their thoughts. That is why I keep challenging my students to communicate and I keep encouraging my peers to speak up.

I am learning from women like Audre Lorde and Naomi Wolf who were bold enough to break the mold and do what is necessary. I will use the power of their words to empower me.

“My silences had not protected me. Your silences will not protect you…. What are the words you do not yet have? What are the tyrannies you swallow day by day and attempt to make your own, until you will sicken and die of them, still in silence? We have been socialized to respect fear more than our own need for language.” ~Audre Lorde

“And the speaking will get easier and easier. And you will find you have fallen in love with your own vision, which you may never have realized you had. And you will lose some friends and lovers, and realize you don’t miss them. And new ones will find you and cherish you. And you will still flirt and paint your nails, dress up and party, because, as I think Emma Goldman said, “If I can’t dance, I don’t want to be part of your revolution.” And at last you’ll know with surpassing certainty that only one thing is more frightening than speaking your truth. And that is not speaking.” ~Naomi Wolf

Through all these, I will remember to speak the truth in love. Love will always be my primary motivation in using the power of words.

“No prolonged infancies among us, please. We’ll not tolerate babes in the woods, small children who are an easy mark for impostors. God wants us to grow up, to know the whole truth and tell it in love—like Christ in everything. We take our lead from Christ, who is the source of everything we do. He keeps us in step with each other. His very breath and blood flow through us, nourishing us so that we will grow up healthy in God, robust in love.” ~Ephesians 4:14-16

5 thoughts on “Using the Power of Words

  1. Bing Carino says:

    Nothing to fear, nothing to hide, nothing to lose.

    When we say that we have nothing to fear, we begin to fear fear itself- the constant of being fearless is frightful. when we say we have nothing to hide is to literally and figuratively get out of the world naked. When we say we have nothing to lose is losing everything.

    Fear is instilled to the fearless because fear makes us appreciate the romance of our humanity. Only the gods know no fear. We should reserve omnipotence to the Supreme, and wish for that in the afterlife.

    We hide things to protect people from the destructive powers of somethings. We hide things to protect innocence, we hide feelings to preserve order, we hide our good deeds to preserve humility. We hide to highlight what is not seen.

    The balance is basic rule of life. What we have is balanced by the things that we don’t have. so if we say we have nothing to lose, we are burdened by the things we accumulate.

    a case in point:
    love is such a good thing. But if we fill ourselves with so love, it becomes a poison that consumes our soul.

  2. Bing Carino says:

    There is so much power in words but as they say with power comes responsibility. I just hope power does not fall in the wrong hands.

    For us teachers, we just don’t teach everybody to speak up. a world with so many people talking or speaking is such a noisy world. Pick the most deserving speaker and leave the rest to be good listeners.

    What would a world be with all ideas? It becomes a wilderness of possibilities that stay that way-wild

  3. I appreciate your comments, Sir Bing.

    But please read again. I wrote, “I keep challenging my students to communicate.” It is a challenge because it is never easy to truly communicate. Every challenge to communicate I give comes with a caveat. We could never overemphasize that there we have enormous responsibility for the statements that we release.

    We do not merely teach skills. We teach responsibility. We teach propriety. After all, it is not just about competencies, it is also about character.

    How can we raise the level of discourse in our society if only the “deserving speaker” is given the platform to articulate? How can we improve as a people if we allow our other communication skills to remain underdeveloped or worse, undeveloped?

    I will not be here forever. I could not forever be the spokesperson of my peers. I prod them to speak up and realize, that in the proper context, with the right motivation, they can actually stand for their convictions and not be content to curse the darkness and complain on the sides.

    As to “nothing to fear, nothing to hide, nothing to lose”, it is in the context of developing character.

    This response is getting longer than I intended to. I will respond in detail through another post. This would be something that I can write about this weekend.

    Keep your comments coming, Sir Bing! Stir me up some more!

  4. Bing Carino says:

    well, i am done pushing things because everything is predetermined and predestined anyway. Despite the abundance or absence of formal training in communication and public discourse, there are just people lucky/unlucky to be in the position to be heard (or not) when talking.

    Just as some people possess physical (meaning di na mababago) traits- the natural tendencies/constructs vis-a-vis ways and natures of occupations and preoccupations, There are roles that we are born into.

    Indiscriminate of pedigree and acquired status, our places in the world are dictated by destiny. The physical , mental and even spiritual efforts that we put on things are delusional- we fail or succeed in our efforts because it is or it is not our destination in the first place.

    This is why there is God.

  5. Bing Carino says:

    Manny Pacquiao, Charice, Kris, Cory Aquino, Imelda Marcos, Ex Governor Padaca, Penaflorida, Paraguay (yes. The Paraguay) , Mommy Dionesia, Willy.

    People, who only God can explain, that despite their natural/unnatural handicap to achieve their status, we can’t help but listen to.

    Of those mentioned above, i take special interest in Paraguay (reason why he is never last in the list). Laugh as we always do when he is concerned, his message is always profound.He would always say “Salamat sa konsensya”. I don’t think anyone got the meaning of this.

Leave a Reply

