Read As Much As You Can!

The man who does not read good books has no advantage over the man who can't read them. ~Mark Twain, attributed

We are more than halfway through the 1st month of the year. And I am thinking: how can I make the remaining days of January count? In solitude, I figured out that I need to make some adjustments, especially after coming across this reminder by Edward P. Morgan, “A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your face. It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both provocation and privacy.”

Books are spilling from the shelves. There’s no more room for new purchases.  I know I cannot read everything in my lifetime. I will read as much as I can but as I do so, I will remember the words of Francis Bacon  “Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed,and some few to be chewed and digested.”

The classics, bestsellers and lesser known titles are crying out to be noticed, to be held, to be read. I could no longer ignore their call. With the multitude of books that are waiting to be read, I have to challenge my priorities. Starting today, I will be spending lesser time on Facebook and other social networking sites. Aside from this, I will be  publishing shorter posts so I can allot more time for reading.

With this decision, my husband and I will be investing our time by feeding our minds and hearts with words from the Bible, from our daily devotional and from books that will prepare us for greater challenges and blessings.

It’s time to read as much as I can before I call it a day!

Leave a Reply

