Enriching Gifts Via Blogfest 2010

“Each day comes bearing its own gifts. Untie the ribbons.”

~Ruth Ann Schabacker

This Christmas, I take time to ponder on how God has manifested His great love for me throughout the year. In the silence of the night, just before everything turns chaotic for the last minute preparations for Noche Buena, I breathe with gratitude. Thanksgiving is my heartbeat as I take stock of God’s creative expressions of His unwavering commitment to transform me from glory to glory.

One of the best things that I experienced this year is being a part of the biggest and grandest blogging event on this side of the planet which took place on December 11, 2010.

The Blogfest SOCCSKSARGEN 2010 by the SOCCSKSARGEN Bloggers is an event that happened in a day but will continue to touch my heart in a thousand and one ways for more than a thousand and one days. There are a lot of gifts I received via the event. Here are some of those that surface to the top of the list:

1. The Gift of Connecting- with the desire to be an active part of the SOX Bloggers, I answered the call to help in my own little way to help prepare  for the Blogfest 2010. As a result, I gained the joy of connecting with Mindanao’s Funnest. When Sir Avel Manansala of GenSan News Online Mag called for a meeting in preparation for the event, my Piao and I immediately fixed our schedule so we can join the team at Pizahan last November.

Connecting with the SOX Bloggers is a blast!

2. The Gift of HostingThe event became even more meaningful for me because I was given the task to be one of the hosts. For the first time, I was given the gift of hosting with Jay Dayupay, ABS-CBN News Anchor of TV Patrol Socsargen. Our first meeting happened only minutes before the event started. His charming blend of confidence and humility paved the way for our whole-day tandem.

Hosting with Jay Dayupay was a breeze!

3. The Gift of Learning– there I was, not just as a host but as a student. During the entire Blogfest, I was learning together with  my students from Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Colleges. I was so hungry for information. I was thirsty for inspiration. My students were also craving to learn all they can about blogging so they can enhance their competences in the New Media.

Over a hundred participants showed up for the biggest blogging event in Mindanao.

And we were not disappointed.  The web luminaries came in full force raring to share what they know to the eager bloggers.

Thank you, Mosler Paul Lapore for the photos! I love you so much!

  • The State of the Philippine Blogosphere Address was delivered by the Diyosa Blogger, Ria Jose.
  • Exposing Local Gems on New Media was revealed by the current President of the Sarangani Tourism Industry Association and Chairperson of Sarangani Tourism Council, Michelle Solon.
  • Spicing Up Blogs With Animation and Video was elucidated by Ryann Z. Elumba.
  • Journalism Ethics for Bloggers was shared by an assistant professor of the Department of Journalism at the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication, Prof. Danilo Arao.
  • New Media in Nation Building was expounded by Head for New Media under the Presidential Communications Operations Office of President Benigno Aquino III, Jay Jaboneta.
  • New Media’s Role in Businesses was explained by the founder of The Top 10 Emerging Influential Blogs Awards, Janette Toral.
  • SEO and Traffic Generation and Monetizing your Blog was discussed by the owner of Commerce Collective, an innovative and successful full-service web presence management company, Dale Palileo.
  • Making the Most of the Internet & Google was shared by the country consultant for the Philippines of Google Inc. and an adopted daughter of the SOCCSKSARGEN Bloggers, Aileen Apolo-De Jesus.
  • Internet Security for Bloggers was revealed by Bobby Soriano.
  • New Media’s Role in Businesses was explained by the founder of The Top 10 Emerging Influential Blogs Awards, Janette Toral.
  • The 1st Keynote Address by Gensan City Mayor Hon. Darlene Antonino-Custodio was delivered by City Administrator Atty. Jong Gonzalez.
  • The 2nd Keynote Address was personally delivered by the Congressman of the 1st District of South Cotabato Hon. Pedro B. Acharon, Jr.
  • Inspirational Words were given by the three winners of the 2010 Philippine Blog Awards after they were recognized by Janet Toral: Ria Jose (Best Blog in Food and Beverage Category), Brendel Balaga (Mindanao’s Best Blog in Beauty and Fashion) and Orman Ortega Manansala (Mindanao’s Best Blog in Personal/Diary Category).

The SOX Bloggers are overflowing with gratitude to the generous sponsors for giving us the opportunity to learn from the experts:

Special thanks to:

East Asia Royale Hotel

Smart Communications

Robinsons Place GenSan

Gaisano Mall of GenSan

Dolores Hotels and Resorts

Sagittarius Mines, Inc.

SMI shared to us the state-of-the-art hologram presentation about mining. There's so much to discover, so much to learn!

All of us are students of New Media - eager to learn as much as we can!

4. The Gift of Blogging- December 11, 2010 will always be a special day for me. I celebrated my 1st Monthsary with fellow bloggers. What I learned from the speakers sparked the interest to learn more about the creative and technical aspects of blogging. My heart was overwhelmed with joy when I was able to reach 5,000 hits in just over a month of blogging. Thanks, Sir Avel Manansala, for challenging me to “sharpen the saw”.

The value of the gift increases with how it enriches the life of the recipient. In my case, the gifts I received via Blogfest 2010 will continue to appreciate. My life is more exciting and more exhilarating with the things that unfold everyday. The traffic that my site generates, as illustrated through the world map based on the last 100 visitors, is a sight to behold!

It was on purpose that I did not have this site monetized (another site would have to take that role). I wanted to hone my skills in writing and blogging through this platform without being motivated by money. I wanted to use the words to share my passion for the world.

These numbers are a testimony to how Blogfest has lavishly added to my experience. Thanks, SOX Bloggers, for enriching my life!

Joining Blogfest 2010 proved to be one of the best choices I made this year! What I do now is a clear evidence of how the event has enriched my life beyond the dollars!

The event has made an impact in a plethora of ways to the 119 participants. The extent of its impact to all of us could never be measured. One thing I know for certain, Blogfest 2010 is a gift that continues to give.

Gift Bearers: SOX Bloggers, Mindanao’s Funnest

This is truly a Merry Christmas!



8 thoughts on “Enriching Gifts Via Blogfest 2010

  1. bariles says:

    Your personal testimony is one of the best Yuletide gifts I’ve ever received Joana.

    You’re actually heaven sent to us, the Sox Bloggers and together, we will continue to help enrich the gifts of other wannabe bloggers.

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Ria Jose says:

    Merry, Merry Christmas Ms Joana! It was a pleasure to meet you. 🙂

  3. Thanks for dropping by, Ria. It is my joy to learn from you, Diyosa Blogger!

  4. ormanpogi says:

    this is probably one of the best reads i’ve encountered this year… blog on jo… and spread the inspiration!

  5. […] order) BlogFest 2010 Was A Smashing Success by Orman Manansala The BlogFest Timeline by Alexis Chua Enriching Gifts Via Blogfest 2010 by Joana Grace […]

  6. Yipee! I won! Congratulations, fellow winners! Thanks, SOX Bloggers.

Leave a Reply

