To The One I Miss The Most

Dearest Papa Joe,

The silver tree is up.

The lights are on.

But you’re not here with us to fill the air with Christmas carols.

I can still recall your reaction when you saw my golden hair for the celebration.

You smiled and affirmed my boldness.

And yes, I can still recall how you giggled when Mama kept teasing you about your receding hairline.

I never thought I would welcome the first day of December

with nagging thoughts about you.

I never thought that December 2007 would be our last year of celebrating Christmas together.

I never thought I would be this sad even with all the red trimmings around me.

I miss you so much, my hero!

Christmas will never be the same without you.

I may be crying a river but I am not depressed.

As I promised you, I will be strong.

I will be a joyful channel of God’s love to the people around me.

I will honor you by being passionate in everything I do.

Opo, Papa– bigay todo ako sa buhay, habang may hininga…

Forever your baby girl,

Gigi

8 thoughts on “To The One I Miss The Most

  1. To the Karaoke King of our Home,
    We miss you so much Papa Joe.

    I may not replace you in their hearts,
    but I can continue what you have started.

    Thank you for accepting & believing in me.

    I miss saying these lines:
    “Papa, alis na po ako… ”
    “I love you Papa… ”

    And I miss hearing you say, “I love you too, Anak.”

    I’m so grateful to God for a short but quality time with you as my Papa.

    I will love and take care of your Gigi and Mama Nanie until my last breath.

  2. Sharon says:

    Oh dear. You made me cry on the first day of December! You are sooo blessed to belong to a very loving family. With God as my witness, your parents are the gentlest, kindest souls on Earth. Kamag-anak yata nila si Mother Theresa hehe. I’m thankful to God for people like them – like you. Thank God for uncle Joe and auntie Nan.
    Continue to inspire, sis Joan! God bless! Merry Christmas to you all.

  3. I love you, dear Sharon! Thank you for the gift of friendship. You are a blessing!

  4. Mj says:

    Nakahilak ko. :c

  5. rabsky says:

    because of this, I miss my Dad so much. :((

  6. samerahampac says:

    I cant stop my tears while reading it ma’am. I also have no father, and I miss him so much.

  7. I miss my father too ma’am. I remember those times when he’s still here with us. He used to call me ”my little princess”. Your right ma’am christmas will never be the same without our fathers.

Leave a Reply

