Let Go, Let God

The Book of Psalms has been my source of comfort  in times of trouble and confusion. When I was lost for words, the Psalms gave life to my deepest longings, my heartfelt desires. I remember how I was liberated from my anxieties, fears and worries when I prayed the Psalms as if they were written by me. The Psalms succinctly captured the songs of my heart.

It is the 21st Century and the songs of our hearts keep finding ways of being expressed. Each time I am in the thick of trouble and confusion I am reminded to make a choice — “why worry when you can pray?” As I let go and let God, the prayers of  my heart find their way into my fingers as melodies of praise and thanksgiving keep ringing…

Psalm 2010-A

Father, I have allowed so many things to get into my life

without screening  and straining them.

I allowed crap to steal my peace and tamper my joy.

I allowed lies to feed my pride and crumble my integrity.

I allowed those little things, those tiny details to be taken for granted.

Here I am, crying out for help.

I am lost in the maze that I foolishly allowed myself to get into.

I am caught in the web of declared controversies and unspoken intrigues.

I feel mangled and strangled.

I feel hollow and shallow.

I come to you in prayer as an act of surrender.

I can’t make it on my own, I can’t survive by myself.

I recognize that life is more than mere survival.

I realize that eternal life is beyond what this world can offer.

You have come, Lord, that we may have life and have it more abundantly

while the devil has come to steal, kill and destroy.

Only You, Lord, can take me out of this mire of sin and death.

You have granted me the gift of salvation

but I allowed myself to be fooled by the enemy.

I find myself slipping back to the mire again and again.

I don’t want this foolish cycle to go on.

I desire for your will to be done in my life knowing that

Your plans for me are to prosper me and not to harm me-

to give me a future and a hope.

Psalm 2010-B

Lord, I thank You for the forgiveness that is made available through Your love.

Indeed, Your mercies are new every morning.

In my emptiness, I cry out to You.

Fill me once more.

I need Your grace.

I need Your mercy.

I need a fresh flow of Your love.

Let Your presence fill me and cause me to overflow

that others may see the wonders of Your love.

I recognize that with all the blunders I have committed

and the unfinished tasks that have accumulated-

I am lost.

I do not know where and how to start.

Please help me.

You assured that if any of us lack wisdom, all we have to do is ask-

and You will give without finding fault.

Let wisdom flow that I may know what to do.

Self-help books can only do so much.

What I need is wisdom that flows from You.

Here I am, my Lord.

I choose to be still and know that You are God.

Psalm 2010-C

Once more, You reminded me that You will never leave me nor forsake me.

No matter what  I go through-

You are there beside me -even when I couldn’t tell.

Through the years, You have journeyed with me.

You know my grief and the depths of my loss.

You know my frustrations and my deepest longings.

You are well aware of the battle that is raging within me.

You know me- more than I know myself- more than others ever will.

I need You in my life, Lord.

It is not enough that You are here with me .

I ask You to take full control of my life.

Once more, I surrender myself to Your Lordship.

My Lord, what do You want me to do?

My Lord, what am I supposed to do?

My Lord, show me Your ways and I will walk with You.

The cry of my heart is to love You more.

Forgive me for taking You for granted.

Forgive me for trying to do it on my own.

Forgive me for my disobedience.

Forgive me for my stubbornness.

Once more, I open my entire being to You.

I receive all that You have for me.

Once more, I bow before Your throne.

Once more , I worship You- my God and my King- my everything.

Psalm 2010-D

Praise the Lord, who loves me more than anybody can.

Praise the Lord, who lifted me out of the mud and mire.

Praise the Lord, who cares to know my deepest desires.

Praise the Lord, who never allows me to remain the same.

He changes me from glory to glory!

Lord, the journey may be long and bumpy

but I am willing to go through the process.

The transformation process may be excruciating

but I am submitting myself to Your will.

I no longer want to be hollow and shallow.

I desire excellence and integrity.

I value commitment and passion.

I seek to honor You in all I do.

One step at a time, one day at a time-

I will remain in the arms of Your love.

I am ever-changing, ever-growing…

Becoming more and more like You.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Let Go, Let God

  1. romarie says:

    very good post ma’am! uplifting…:) AMEN.

  2. jobelyn cadungog says:

    wow!!!!how great is our GOD!!He really love us….praise the LORD.

Leave a Reply

